Tampa Area Cycling
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tampa Area Cycling

Community Forum

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

How Should Older Riders Train?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Randy
Admin
Randy

How Should Older Riders Train? Empty
PostSubject: How Should Older Riders Train?   How Should Older Riders Train? Icon_minitimeThu Aug 07, 2008 5:50 pm

BEST OF COACH FRED

Q: I've been racing for 4 decades, averaging about 700 hours of training each year. But now I'm 59 and sometimes feel the motivation is just not there. I heard that a 67-year-old guy finished El Tour de Tucson (111 miles) in 4:51. He had significantly reduced his on-bike training to 4 days per week and lifts weights the other 3 days. Do you think I can cut back my training that way and still ride well? -- Bill S.

Coach Fred Matheny Replies: That's a great question, Bill. And it's the type we're hearing a lot from RBR readers and those who write on our Comments page. More and more roadies are moving into the "mature" age groups and discovering physical ability and training motivation aren't what they once were.

At age 62 I can identify and provide an answer based on experience. Sometimes it's been bitter experience!

I think that 700 hours of training a year may be excessive if 2 conditions are present:

Consistent intensity. If much of your mileage is done at around 75-85% of your max, it's not surprising that you feel burned out and tired. Much better: Make some training days very intense and the rest very easy. Riding at a medium-hard pace all the time spawns a sense of drudgery and mediocre performances.

Consistent activity. You may fall into overtraining if you don't have a real off-season. That's defined as exchanging time on the bike for other enjoyable aerobic activities (running, hiking, snowshoeing, swimming and so on).